Mr. Freeman

Wrong Date And 40 Over

by: Mr. Freeman on

I was going 90 in a 50, so 40 over. And the cop gave me the $295 ticket. I didn't notice until I got home that the cop had put the wrong year on the ticket!!!! I got the ticket today, May 18, 2009....and he dated it as May 18, 2008. And I plan on pleding guilty as I'm a university student and don't have the funds to pay to large amount.

So, what does this mean? And what can I do?

FiReSTaRT

by: FiReSTaRT on

The way I understand it is that this would be a fatal error and the charge should be beatable. With that being said, I'd wait for more knowledgeable people like TC to chime in, confirm this and give you the best way to go about it. Don't take it to court just yet but don't wait for longer than 2 weeks either (in case the guys don't get around to chiming in with this one).

Worst case scenario, you can just go, request a court date and that'll buy you a few months to do your homework.

What kind of a man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
hwybear

Posting Awards

by: hwybear on

I have made this error before. Usually within the first couple weeks of a new year and the court is understanding with that type of thing.

On other occassions, I would get a photocopy of the ticket back in my diary slot at work, with *voided* wrote on it with the date "highlited". Just to let me know I messed up.

So I would guess that the court either sends a letter to the person or if they have paid the offence they just mail the money back.

The ticket has to be filed within 7 days of the offence.

Sure TC would know more of this part.....

Above is merely a suggestion/thought and in no way constitutes legal advice or views of my employer. www.OHTA.ca
Reflections

by: Reflections on