A speeding traffic ticket is subject to section 128 of the Highway Traffic Act.
otathrowaway

87km/h In A 60 Zone (ncc Land, Pulled Over And Ticked By Rcmp)

by: otathrowaway on

So background, I have been driving basically every day for over 6 years and had never gotten into an accident or been pulled over prior to this.

It’s my first week driving for work, and I don’t live in the area where I work so I’m unfamiliar with the roads and speed limits and what not. I ended up going down a parkway which is owned by the National Capital Commission (Ottawa) and therefore policed by RCMP. The speed limit on here was 60 (posted so no real excuse) and I was going 87 because I thought it was an 80 zone (it’s a long straight road with no intersections and 2 lanes of traffic each way that are separated by a median, how is it a 60?!)

As I drove down the parkway, I passed a car that had been pulled over, and saw a police officer parked on the grass further up ahead. Thinking I was going basically the speed limit, I hardly even slowed down, and sure enough he pulled out and pulled me over.

Officer asked me what the reason for the speeding was, I said I thought it was an 80 zone.

And that was basically that, $140 ticket and 3 demerit points. He didn’t lower my speed at all on the ticket or give me any advice (this is typical for RCMP).

I also ended up getting a distracted driving ticket 2 hours later, which is in another post on this forum.

So what should I do? The ticket hasn’t been reduced yet, so are my odds of getting it reduced to maybe 15km/h over good? Is radar gun evidence flimsy in court?

Thanks in advance.

bend

Posting Awards

by: bend on

otathrowaway wrote: Fri Apr 08, 2022 10:21 pm

So what should I do? The ticket hasn’t been reduced yet, so are my odds of getting it reduced to maybe 15km/h over good? Is radar gun evidence flimsy in court?

The odds of having the ticket reduced are pretty good.