Soulbear

40km Over, Speeding 140km On 100km, 4 Tickets.

by: Soulbear on

Hi everyone! I been filled with anxiety and haven't slept well for a few days.

Traffic was going relatively fast and I did not notice I was going 140km/hr on the 401. A undercover SUV officer pulled me over and showed me 140km on his radar. He asked me why I was going from Toronto to Kitchener and I said to see my friend which resulted in a Covid ticket as well (I was nervous as this was my first interaction with the police and didnt explain that I was to drive my friend to get a biopsy early next morning, so I'll definitely argue this in trial with the receipt my friend gave me from the surgeon as evidence). I am an occasional driver with my dad's car and was having trouble finding the motor permit and insurance (I found in the compartment box later that day) which the officer said I can look for it, but went back to his car to issue tickets and came back to say he does not have all day. Gave me four tickets, recommended I pick option 2 for meet with prosecutor, and drove off.

In terms of option 2 (meet prosecutor) or option 3 (Trial - intend to please not guilty), if I choose option 3 for my speeding ticket, would I be given disclosure and an offer by a prosecutor or clerk before I go into trial? I understand that demerit points stay for two years from the issue date and want to delay it for insurance purposes, but do not want to forego a possible offer from meeting a prosecutor with option 2. Please help and Thank You!!

Soulbear

I read more posts in the forum and found that the failure to surrender my insurance card and motor permit will also affect my insurance premiums. If I pick option 2, is it only possible that both charges and fees can get lightened and not even one can be dropped? Is there any way to argue that the officer did not give me sufficient time to locate them if I chose either option 2 or 3? Any help would be appreciated!

bend

Posting Awards

by: bend on