A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

mchelp

Run In With A Cement Truck

by: mchelp on

I'm a G2 driver involved in a traffic accident. I was driving in the slow lane at 65 km/h (Speed limit 80 km/h) passing a cement truck travelling slower in the fast lane. My car suddenly spun around and the front bumper of the truck was coming into my driver side window. Contact was over the rear wheel of my car with his bumper where is snagged my car (a gash) and my car rolled around his bumper so my car was t-boned. I was charged with "Lane Change not in safety". I wasn't changing lanes but they blamed me for the accident. Both the cement truck (Driver estimates his speed at 20 km/h) and my car came to stop in the slow lane. Rear tires of my car slid around marking the edge of the pavement and shoulder. Rear tire of my car ended just off the edge of the slow lane on the shoulder of the road.

Another Cement truck driver stopped and I think he also gave a statement. I don't have any witnesses. I think the position of the vehicles speaks for itself. Any ideas how can I fight this ticket? Insurance Co. not interested in any pictures, they say I'm at fault because I was charged. Is there a calculator to show my small car couldn't have the force to pull a 60,000 lb truck into my lane?

Any help would be appreciatied.

Thanks

whaddyaknow

Posting Awards

by: whaddyaknow on

I can't give you any specific advice, but indulge me in playing devil's advocate here:

You were passing the cement truck on the right. You inadvertently moved to the left just as your back wheel lined up with the truck's front bumper. And the rest is history....

That's what you're going to be fighting.

Hopefully some others may weigh in with some better advice, but on the surface it seems challenging. Good luck!

mchelp