driver2016

Please Help!!!!!!!

by: driver2016 on

Today I got a ticket for "fail to stop school bus - meeting"

It was pouring rain and fog, I honestly did not see it!!!

I got a $490 fine. Officer did not mention demerit points.

I have some questions.

1. since officer did not mention demerit points, does that mean I don't get any?

2. the weather was awful, if i take this to court will they take that into account?

3. I am a g2 driver!!!!!! what does this mean???

4. what does meeting mean?

5. I have no tickets or anything to my name. will they take this into account in court?

6. if i take this to court, are they likely going to reduce my fine or demerit points (if i have any, doesnt say on ticket)

please help

Stanton
High Authority
High Authority

Posting Awards

by: Stanton on

1) Demerit points are applied by the Ministry upon conviction. Your offence carries 6 points.

2) Most likely not. You're expected to drive according to the conditions.

3) If you're convicted of any offence with 4+ demerit points, your licence will be suspended for 30 days.

4) Simply means you were approaching the from the opposite direction it was travelling.

5) You could possibly be offered a plea deal to a lesser offence but your charge is considered serious.

6) Fines can be reduced with cause, demerit points cannot. You'd need to work out plea deal to a lesser offence for less demerit points are be found not guilty.

driver2016

by: driver2016 on

Decatur wrote:If you're convicted of the offence as charged, they can't lessen the demerit points. The courts have no say in demerit points. They are administered by the MTO.

i've had friends who have met with prosecutor for running stop sign. right away they went in and the prosecutor lessened the charge and demerit points. can't that happen to me as well?

Stanton
High Authority
High Authority

Posting Awards

by: Stanton on