The Ontario Highway Traffic Act section 78.1(1) deals with Hand-held devices and distracted driving.
cavanessa

Urgent Help Needed: Handheld Comm Device-trial Is On Dec22

by: cavanessa on

On March 7th, 2016, I got my ever first traffic ticket for "Handheld Communication Device". I am an experienced driver for more than 10 years; apparently, not so experienced in taking traffic ticket.

It was on Don Mills and north of York Mills. I was driving my CRV in the middle lane when I noticed a PPV moving parallely at the right side: a police woman and a police man in it. My first reaction was to slow down as I thought the PPV wanted to change to the middle lane. Then soon I realized I was their objective. So I pulled over with a big "WHY". It was the police woman came close and talked to me. She asked me if I had known why she called me off. I said NO. Then she said they had seen me use my cell. I said I didn't as my cell was on passenger seat. Then she said they saw me from one of those videos installed on an intersection I had passed through. I confirmed that I didn't use my cell at all. She said I had touched my phone which I had no impression but couldn't deny completely. I said, my biggest mistake, "I can't remember if I have ever touched my phone; but if I did, it could just one touch."

My ticket was $490 plus 3 points. I booked a trail which is on Dec 22nd; requested for a translator and a disclosure. The following is the info provided in the disclosure.

"Monday March 7, 2016 / Overcast day mild temp / roads clear, traffic is heavy

Marked Scout 3312 as call sign 3321.2 (not sure what this is)

General patrol S/B Don Mills R at Duncan Mill Rd in Curb Lane.

Observed black Honda CRV in middle lane stepped at red light / clear view through her passenger window / observer female holding, a cell device in her right hand, appeared to be manipulating it with her right thumb. (my question is why they didn't call me off at the traffic light!)