freeeeze

Disclosure/insurance Question For 49 Over Reduced To 29 Tick

by: freeeeze on

Hi,

First time hear and I've read a ton of the forums on here and appreciate the amount of advice everybody is giving.

I was pulled over for going 149km/h (I felt regretful and idiotic, of course.) near ottawa and the OPP reduced it to 129km/h. This is my first speeding ticket and I was on the way back to Toronto from Montreal. Happened around midnight and I don't think there were any other cars around me. The OPP was very kind in not towing my car away. (I think he clocked me at 150 on the empty highway but wrote down 149.) I'm a G2 driver that's been driving for a little bit over a year. Still a student. I'm 21 and i'm worried about my insurance increasing to an unreasonable rate from 1 minor conviction.

I received the ticket middle of august and I filed for option 3 and received my notice of trial on September 7-8th. I requested disclosure via. email and asked when I'll receive it but they said that it depends on the enforcement agency and the officer. From what I've read on this forum, disclosures take about 7-8 weeks, but my trial will come by then.

I had a couple questions:

1. My notice of trial date is the end of October which is surprisingly quick for a trial and I'm not sure if disclosure will be sent out within reasonable time for me to make a defense for it. Do I file for a stay 15 days before the trial date or tell them on the day of that I did not receive the disclosure and want to postpone the trial to another date.

2. Do I have to file more than once to prove that I was really trying to get my disclosure before trial date or is requesting it once enough? (They confirmed that they received it already.)