A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

rxtx

Atv 20km/h Speed Limit Ticket, Implications?

by: rxtx on

recently received a speeding ticket (first ticket in ~7 years) on an ATV for exceeding 20k/mh on a 50km/h roadway. (316.03/sec22) ~150$ fine no points.

I recall this provision from 25 years ago as it applies to snowmobiles under the msva, but as I am new to off-roading this was a bit of a suprise.

when I received the ticket the LEO alleged I was travelling in excess of 80km/h....the implication being that the section 316 ticket is a BIG BREAK from the demerit points and fine of a 30km/h-over ticket.

my question is in regards to the application of stunt driving (172?) ..... would 50km/h (stunt driving speed threshold) be considered from 50 (aka 100km/h) or from 20 (aka 70km/h), in which case 20km/h over the limit while a minor infraction in a car, would be a major infraction on a smaller vehicle???

If I am interpreting this right, this dated subsection has staggering implications when combined with some new law sections.

It also seems silly that in a 50 zone it is only "safe" to so 20km/h yet in a 60 zone suddenly "50km/h is safe".... if the goal to maintain a certain speed differential between traffic they certainly do not achieve this, and I dont see much difference in pavement quality between 50km/h roads and 80km/h roads. if nobody tells my atv it is in a 50 zone maybe it will still handle properly? :P

viper1

by: viper1 on

I believe stunt driving is 50k over posted speed.

Back when I took drivers ed it was double the speed limit to lose your ticket.

(but at that time no rules for off road vehicles)

challenge it and see what offer is.

"hang onto your chair when reading my posts
use at your own risk"
screeech

by: screeech on

The ticket comes from Regulation 316-06 of the Highway Traffic Act. Section 22 reads:

Maximum speed