A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

High-miler

Posting Awards

Does A Motorcycle Licence Make You A "novice Driver" Again?

by: High-miler on

I'll try to explain this as quick as possible - I'd like clarification to clear up something that I read elsewhere.

First off, I'll preface my post by saying that I'm NOT condoning illegal drinking and driving, however my question does relate to BAC.

Situation: An experienced driver who has held a class G, D, A etc etc decides to get his/her motorcycle licence. The M1 (complete beginner) motorcycle licence licence carries several restrictions while operating the motorcycle including 0 BAC, no driving on roads with a limit over 80, no driving at night, no passengers. The next class (intermediate) motorcycle licence (M2) removes all but the 0 BAC restriction. I'm cool with that - nobody should be getting on 2 wheels with any sort of BAC.

However...It's been suggested that these restrictions (specifically the 0 BAC with the M2 licence which a rider must live with for at least a few years before being eligible to upgrade to the full class M) carries over to ALL other classes of licences the motorcycle rider carries....so a 50 year old guy who has had a clean class G licence all his life and then decides to buy a motorcycle, gets his M1 and then M2 shortly afterwards (M1 is only valid for 90 days) will have to, potentially for several years until such time that he is eligible to upgrade to the full class M (which removes all restrictions), maintain a 0 BAC while driving his CAR?

So a guy can't go to a pub in his CAR, have a single beer with his buddies and drive his CAR (not motorcycle) home without risking a novice driver charge and licence suspension if pulled over and blows a perfectly legal G class BAC, but actually end up suspended and such...simply because he carries a M1 or M2 motorcycle licence?

Stanton