A speeding traffic ticket is subject to section 128 of the Highway Traffic Act.
rugal99

62 On A 50 Zone, Downtown Toronto :(

by: rugal99 on

Hello,

I got a speeding ticket for doing 62 on a 50 zone in Toronto. It was on Richmond St just west of Parliament St. There was a downhill ramp with the speed initially being 60 kmph and then speed changed to 50. I try to always drive within limits even on highway.

I reduced my speed as I was going downhill, but the cop caught me at 62 and gave me a ticket.

I literally begged him to let me go with a warning as I am a student with G2 and it will spike my insurance and I tried to slow down on downhill, and the officer told me that he noticed that I reduced the speed, but it was already too late.

This is where I got the ticket:

https://www.google.ca/maps/place/43%C2% ... 45658,16z/

(You can use streetview to move westwards on Richmond St to see the downhill)

I got my G2 licence 10 months ago, and now very worried... as I know this will spike my insurance.

I am a student and below 25 and already paying a high insurance.

Do I hire paralegal, or professional help. Please help/advice.

rugal99

Update...

I spoke with my insurance agent, and I was told that the conviction will increase premium as I am on G2, but if I get a G license, it will not spike as they forgive/allow 1 minor ticket.

So, do I go to trial with the ticket - which will give me a few months(??) and in the mean time get the G license?

TimoC

by: TimoC on

Hello!

I just had a similar situation and I am a student as well.

If you go for a lawyer, it might cost you 400+ and if the cop show up on the court, you might only have little chance to win while you still have to pay the lawyer.

Since you have already contacted your insurance provider, you might want to ask them how much they would increase your insurance and see which costs less.

personal opinion, you might want to wait for some better suggestions.

CumminsDiesel

by: CumminsDiesel on