Got a Failing to obey signs traffic ticket?
Marfy2012

Disobey Sign H.t.a. 182(2)

by: Marfy2012 on

Hello all,

I came across this site after searching my ticket. I am impressed to say the least. Thank you to all of the knowledgeable people sharing information. Pretty awesome.

Well as the title says I received a ticket for "Disobey Sign" under s.182(2) of the H.T.A.

Specifically, I turned left while traveling south on Royal York Rd. onto King George which is marked by the sign attached below as being prohibited between 7-9am. I had no idea the sign even existed and I live around the corner! Anyway, we all know that is no defence.

I plan on taking in my ticket to set a court date. I am new to the system so i thoroughly appreciate the help. I guess my questions are as follows:

1. When I take my ticket in to select option 3, will they try to negotiate with me right away?

2. I gather that it is possible to try to bring up a municipal infraction. I note that interfering with traffic is referred to a lot. I understand that a hta conviction, regardless of demerit points issued, will effect insurance rates. Will a municipal infraction do the same?

2(a) does anyone have experience with having this "switched"? What would the equivalent municipal infraction be in my best case scenario?

3. I note that this is supposed to be a "bilingual" area and the sign does not have French... That would be last resort though.

That being said, should I argue anything else instead? There wasn't much traffic and I didn't hold any one up which I assume is the point of the sign. Secondly, what about arguing that after I initiated the turn by signaling, I saw the sign and deemed it would be safer to make the turn as someone was passing me on the shoulder on my left?

I don't do much care about the initial fine, I just don't want the insurance implications.