A speeding traffic ticket is subject to section 128 of the Highway Traffic Act.
julietsierratango

Interesting Case

by: julietsierratango on

A friend got a speeding ticket with a set fine of $95. I cannot read the officer's notes so I cannot determine how fast he was allegedly going.

The friend requested a trial date, and when recieved a date for trial requested disclosure. The trial date was today (December 6) and no disclosure had been recieved by my friend (the court said they would mail it) because the Prosecutor is on holidays. I attended for my friend and asked the JP to dismiss the trial due to lack of disclosure but the JP simply adjourned the case (I did not make the argument properly as I did not read these forums before attending court).

My first question is am I allowed to represent my friend in a trial? I am a social worker and have no legal certifications, just a love for taking traffic tickets to trial; I have taken plenty of my own to trial but never someone else's.

Secondly, I picked up disclosure while I was at the court after the JP adjourned the trial and I cannot read the officers writing. My plan is as follows:

I will ask for the officers notes typed rather than handwritten.

When I pick this up I will then ask for a copy of the service records for the laser that tagged my friend, as I consider the service history of the laser gun to be important to the case.

Ideally my request for the service records will be denied, but does anyone have any experience with this? What information can others provide me with to strengthen my position? How much would it be recommended to apply for a stay now that I will have to attend court 3 times (1st appearance, motion to set a trial since I did not have dates for my friend today, then finally the trial) and will have spent more in gas than the ticket is worth? The court house is 1 hour away by car.

Simon Borys
VIP
VIP

by: Simon Borys on