No seat belt traffic ticket - Discuss the HTA here.

Do You Think The Prosecutor Will Drop The Case?

Yes, the medical conditions should still be considered
No votes
Yes, but only due to circumstance
67%
Maybe, if you're lucky
33%
No, you'll have to go to trial
No votes
No, you should pay the fine and know better for next time
No votes

Total votes: 3

earthbelowus

Failed To Wear Belt With Medical Reason: Still Ticketed

by: earthbelowus on

This is my first time posting here, so thank you to everyone (or anyone) who takes the time to answer me.

So this is my situation:

Ticketed by: OPP

Date: 11-Oct-2011

Charge: Driver fail to wear seat belt assembly

Contrary to: Highway Traffic Act 106(1)

So that is what the law sees, driver, no seat belt, one prior conviction (speeding 60km in a 50km per hour zone).

Now for the details of the matter. In March 2010, I had a laproscopic surgery to install a weight loss device and fix a hiatial hernia (stomach herniated through diaphragm). During the procedure, there was a pierce of a nerve in my diaphragm leading to excruciating pain in my left shoulder. I am also still pretty severely overweight, although I am losing a little more each day!

Now, with the pain being in my left shoulder, it makes wearing a seat belt intolerably painful: the belt binds and compresses against the shoulder, and it feels like a knife twists in and out as it does. Also, I have pain where the implants are for the weight loss device: unfortunately, the pain is exactly where the belt crosses my stomach. Finally, due to my weight it is difficult to wear the belt at all, leading to even more pain from having everything tightly strapped.

These problems have existed since the surgery in March 2010. I was aware that there was a medical exemption for seat belt use, and spoke about that with a physician. However, neither myself nor the surgeon was aware of a certificate needed for exemption. Ignorance is a terrible thing.