A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

Squishy

Maintenance Of Commercial Vehicle, Diy?

by: Squishy on

Is there a requirement for commercial vehicles to be maintained only by licensed mechanics (e.g., oil changes, tire rotations)? I'm working with Habitat for Humanity and we are looking into a cargo van for the ReStore; I'm more than capable of doing maintenance but I'm not sure if it is legal because I am not a licensed mechanic.

Simon Borys
VIP
VIP

by: Simon Borys on

If you are just referring to work that needs to be done on a vehicle when it breaks or regular maintenance, there is nothing in the HTA that says the work has to be done by a licenced mechanic. However, if the work were done improperly because the person who did it wasn't licenced, that could potentially open the company up to civil liability, since the company is required to do what is "reasonable" is the maintenance of its vehicles and a court could find that having work done by an unlicenced individual is not "reasonable". For a definitive answer on that you should consult a civil lawyer.

That being said, there are still some things that a commercial vehicle requires that only a mechanic can do.

For example: annual inspections. Also, don't forget about all the other commercial vehicle requirements: CVOR, pretrip, schedule 1, log books, etc.

NOTHING I SAY ON HERE IS LEGAL ADVICE.
Squishy

by: Squishy on

I've already told them that I won't be doing anything, basically, that might end up with a wheel falling off or losing brakes on the highway - they can pay for that stuff to be done. But I can save them labour costs in engine/transmission maintenance, electrical repairs, and other stuff that would otherwise need a mechanic to fix. I wasn't sure if that would affect the CVOR or annual inspection, if they might ask for invoices or work order numbers from an "MTO approved shop" or something.