A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

jtgb1

Help, Please! Is Speeding Ticket Worth Fighting?

by: jtgb1 on

Hi -- I'm new to this, and I do apologize if I'm posting my message incorrectly. I'd appreciate any help/advice that other readers can offer.

I was recently ticketed for speeding 100km/hr in a 90km/hr zone, which was reduced from a clocked speed of 116km/hr. This occurred midweek at ~3a.m. heading eastbound on Hwy 403 in Hamilton. The road was clear and there was very little traffic (i.e. no one else could have been clocked!). I'm confident the reading was fairly accurate as I was still accelerating, having just entered the roadway less than a km before detection.

The officer who pulled me over had been parked at the end of a long on-ramp; he told me that another car parked on top of a bridge had clocked my speed. There are 2 possible bridges upon which the radar could have been stationed; the roadway curves as it approaches and goes beneath both bridges, then straightens beyond this.

The reduced offence carries only a $40 fine and 0 points. However, after reading through many posts on this site, it seems to me that this may still be worth fighting. I'd appreciate feedback on the following points that I think may form my defence.

First, from the point at which I entered the highway to either the point of radar detection or the point at which the "chase vehicle" was parked, there is no sign indicating the 90km/hr reduced speed zone. The only 90km/hr sign after the on-ramp that I used is posted beyond the spot where I pulled over.