The Ontario Highway Traffic Act section 78.1(1) deals with Hand-held devices and distracted driving.
shuank

Advice On 78.1(1) Handheld Communication Device Ticket

by: shuank on

This is my first time getting a traffic ticket and I would really appreciate advice on how to approach this.

I was stopped back in January and issued a ticket for "DRIVE - HANDHELD COMMUNICATION DEVICE". I requested disclosure, and received:

1) DVD with the police cruises dash cam video with audio

2) Police officers notes

The dash cam video does not show anything of value, and I am not visible at all at any point. The video does include the entire conversation that I had with the police officer.

Here are the notes from the police officer:

----------------

Weather: Cloudy Roads: dry, some areas wet.

In full uniform capacity, solo officer

As I drove along I observed a vehicle silver in colour Mini Cooper on my right side and the driver had his cellphone with black cover on his left hand near his left ear.

The lights changed to green I pulled over behind the drivers vehicle and I stopped. The driver was the only occupant.

I approached to the driver who advised me he was on a "business call". I demanded his D/L, Ins. and R/O; all documents in order.

------------------

I few observations regarding my exchange with the officer:

- As mentioned in the notes, the officer asked my why I was on the phone and I said I was on a "business call". Does this count as an admittance of guilt? As I understand I am legally allowed to carry out a phone call using handsfree means, and neither the notes or the verbal exchange with the police officer has any specific indication of physically holding the phone to carry out the phone call.