A speeding traffic ticket is subject to section 128 of the Highway Traffic Act.
mikeyb

Posting Awards

Speeding Ticket Question And Advice - Best Option

by: mikeyb on

Hello All,

Today I was driving in a 60 zone that suddenly dropped down to a 40. I did not realize and was keeping up with traffic in the area. I was pulled over by a police officer who was radar'ing from a hidden location off the side of the road.

He informed me that I was driving 72 in a 40 zone. After giving me a ticket, he explained he would bump it down to 69 in a 40 zone in order to reduce to 3 points. He also informed me that IF I tried to fight the ticket, he would put the fine back to the full amount. Some people on this forum have commented that there is some type of sign on their ticket that it has been reduced? I don't see that on my ticket, if that is a thing? He also said that, since I was a nice guy, if I went to court, they would likely make me a better deal. I was off on my way.

I am a full G driver and have not been convicted of an offense in a very long time. I am wondering what my best option would be. I have fought tickets before trying to obtain disclosure and not receiving it to obtain a stay. However, this would be the first speeding ticket, which I know are harder to "beat".

Option 1 - Pay the 138.75 dollars and take the hit on insurance. I don't expect to get any tickets any time soon and I know points mean little for insurance anyways.

Option 2 - Meet with a prosecutor to ask for a lesser charge to save me the demerits. I know it is difficult to get off speeding tickets by going to trial but at least I can reduce my demerits in the event that I ever get another ticket?

Option 3 - I have always, at least tried to, challenge the ticket. I would ask for a trial (whenever this covid closure is over), ask for disclosure and see if there are any delays or procedural issues that could possibly get me off due to the covid chaos. Its worth a shot?