redd24

Late Disclosure And Trial Date, 34 Over

by: redd24 on

This is my very first infraction of any kind. I am a G2 driver. I was clocked at going 84 in 50 road on Feb 6th 2016. The officer was sitting in his drivers seat and used the radar from the window. (Is this correct use of the radar, should he be standing outside unobstructed?) I was driving a rental and have never owned my own auto insurance.

I only got my notice of trial at the end of June 2016 and did not do anything about it till now. My trial date is Oct 3rd 2016. I just faxed in the request for disclosure today Sep 16th, 17 days before my date. It probably is not enough time for the prosecutor to gather disclosure. In the disclosure I asked for bodycam footage of the officer as he was wearing one at the time and notified me about it. So should I show up and request an adjournment on the grounds that I did not receive disclosure? Will the justice see that I requested it this late and did not give the prosecutor reasonable time to gather my disclosure? Will this harm my chances of getting a stay down the line?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks

screeech

by: screeech on

Yes that is proper use of the radar...the window may reduce the effective range of the radar but not the accuracy...the JP may not be happy with you for making a late request for an adjournment but they likely will...that delay will count against you, not the prosecution...

Zatota

Posting Awards

by: Zatota on

Once there's an adjournment that counts against you, you won't have a case for trial delay. Regardless, a trial date that's only eight months after the offence date would not be considered an unreasonable delay anyway, particularly in the GTA. Anything under roughly 15 months (Toronto proper) or 12 to 13 months (York Region) is considered fair.

bend

Posting Awards

by: bend on

redd24 wrote:Is there a way to ensure that I dont waive my Charter right to a speedy trial. Can I tell the justice that?