Failing to obey a stop sign - Highway Traffic Act section 136(1).
t3ch9

Red Light - Fail To Stop

by: t3ch9 on

Hey, i recently got a ticket for failing to stop a red light (Section 114(18)).

I was travelling south, the cop was travelling north. He was on the other side of the intersection then me, my light turned yellow and i tried running it but it turned red before i could cross the line. I was going too fast to be able to stomp the break so i had to run it through.

The cop made a u-turn, pulled me over and gave me this ticket. I checked for fatal errors but unfortunately couldn't find any, the fine and everything on the ticket was correct.

I tried telling him it was yellow but he said "nope it was a solid red". This ticket is really going to hurt my insurance, since I am a young driver.

This is technically my first ticket because my last ticket didn't get issued. This one 100% got issued because its electronically printed and not hand-written like the other one i had.

Anyways, how should i go about this to get this ticket dropped. What are that it will get dropped?

Extra Information: This happened in Scarborough.

bend

Posting Awards

by: bend on

There's no secret to making tickets just disappear.

There's two points in your post that get confusing. You say the light turned red before you crossed the line but yet you argue with the officer the light was yellow? I'm not sure I follow the reasoning there.

Amber doesn't mean "speed up and beat the light". Even had managed to race and beat the red light, you can still be ticketed for disobeying an amber. You're not exactly accomplishing much when the argument is "I almost beat it".

If you're going down the path of "I tried to beat the red light but I ran through it in the interest of safety to avoid stopping in the intersection", don't even bother. It's a contradictory defense. Someone who is interested in making the safest maneuver isn't trying to beat amber lights.