tryingtoimprove

Redlightcamera: Light Was Only Red For 000.5 Seconds

by: tryingtoimprove on

Hello

I recently got a red light camera ticket, which I sent for early resolution.

The first picture showed me behind the solid white line (where most cars stop), and the red light was only red for 000.5.

The second picture showed me in the middle of the intersection, the light was red for 001.2 secs.

I was doing 71 in a 50 (weber st in waterloo). I was busy on a delivery (Im a student that delivers food).

I guess there is no disclosure, but what are my options? I mean the light just turned red, it was only red for a for 000.5!

Defense? If I stopped I would of ended up in the middle of the intersection.

Could they retroactively give me a ticket for speeding?

Please help

jsherk
High Authority
High Authority

by: jsherk on

Well the good news with camera tickets is that you are being charged as the OWNER of the vehicle and not the DRIVER of the vehicle. This means it will not appear on your driving record, you will not lose any demerit points and it will not affect your insurance.

They have up to 6 months from the date of offence to charge you with it. So if they have some kind of proof of you speeding, then they could theoretically charge you with speeding.

+++ This is not legal advice, only my opinion +++
iFly55

Posting Awards

by: iFly55 on

I've yet to hear of anyone getting charged for speeding based on the RLC reading. That would essentially make it a photo-radar, which would set off a firestorm.

Unfortunately, I don't really see how you'll be getting out of this. You were speeding +21kph over the posted limit, and failed to stop for the amber and red light.

Arguing, that stopping would have landed you in the middle of the intersection; strengthens the crown's case that you were driving too fast for the conditions. Delivering food is not an emergency, where you're afforded the "necessity defence" against an absolute liability offence.