Got a Failing to obey signs traffic ticket?
TheDudeAbides

Fail To Stop And 3 Day Suspension

by: TheDudeAbides on

First of all - great site, I've spent some time looking at other posts this afternoon and am really impressed with the advice and observations offered.

I was coming home from hockey last Friday night with a buddy of mine in the car with me. I had a couple of beers after the game but thought I was within in my limit to drive home. It was late at night (2:30 am) and I was driving in a residential area, going the speed limit when I noticed the cherries in my rear view. I've been driving for 20 years and have a very clean record (a couple speeding tickets that are almost 3 years old). I pull over and the officer asks if I realized that I drove through the stop sign back there. I'm totally caught off guard b/c there's no way I would blow through a stop sign so he must mean I didn't come to a complete stop. He then asks if I've had anything to drink and I admit that I had a couple beers after the game. He asks if I will submit to the field sobriety test and I comply. I breathe an A (alert) and he lets me know that this means my license will be suspended for three days (so I can get it back tomorrow). Through other posts I understand there is no way to contest this and I only hope it does not affect my insurance. He also issued me another ticket because I have a GM2 license and he thought I couldn't have ANY alcohol. When I explained that I've had my G for 20 years and that the M2 was added last summer when I bought a motorcycle and therefore shouldn't I only be given the ticket if I were on a motorcycle he quickly took the ticket back and said it was useless. Comments???