Highway Traffic Act section 139.1
irv

Unsafe Lane Change

by: irv on

Hi, Newbie here.

I don't see "Unsafe lane change" as a heading so I thought I would post it here?

Back in Novemeber 2010 while I was bring my snowmobile trailer home from storage, I had a incident with a City of Oshawa bus.

I was heading on Simcoe south and needed to turn right at Taunton, I noticed a bus in the right turning lane, (the lane I needed into) with his 4 ways on stopped at the bus stop.

I seen him from approx a 1/4-1/8 mile ahead sitting there with nobody getting on or off the bus, he was completely stopped and again, with his 4 way flashers on.

There area the bus was stopped was approximately 30-40 feet from the intersection, which imo gave me plenty of room to go in front of him and make my right turn safely.

(My truck is a 09 full size ext cab Sierra and my trailer is a 10 footer not including the tongue, which I assume is approx 4 feet?)

As I passed the bus, which was still stopped imo, I arrived at the intersection and waited for traffic to clear to make my right turn.

As I was sitting there I heard a few honks of a horn? I brushed it off as someone somewhere behind me honking at someone else.

As I was just about to make my turn, a knock came to my side window which was the bus driver.

I rolled down my window and he said I hit him?

I exited my vehicle and immediately noticed he had moved up approx 15-20 feet from his stopped position.

I told him this and that he was stopped when I went by him and had signalled etc so how is it I hit you, you have moved up 15-20 feet, did you not see my signal lights?

He stated I cut him off.

He had hit my snowmobile approx 1/2 way to 3/4 of the way back of it, hardly a mark and zero damage imo.

His mirror had turned and a small piece of reflective tape he had on it had a small peel mark on it, again zero damage imo.