Failing to obey a stop sign - Highway Traffic Act section 136(1).
stek

Fail To Stop At Red Light - 144(18)

by: stek on

Back in April I got a ticket for $150 ($180 total) for failing to stop at red light.

I have to mention right away that I am a totally inexperienced driver. I got my G2 license 6 weeks and bought my car only 2 weeks before that ticket.

Here is how I remember what happened:

I was driving on Erin Mills Parkway in Mississauga early in the morning, the road was a bit wet after the a light rain. I didn't have anyone in front of me, but a large SUV was tailgating me for some time (making me really nervous), and traffic in other lanes was more or less in line with me. The speed was around 80 km/hr. The lights on the overpass after 403 went amber, but I wasn't sure if I could stop safely before the intersection, so I went ahead. When I already was at the intersection the lights changed to red. Some time later I was stopped by police car that followed me and got the ticket.

Later on I decided to go for trial, since I think I should have been charged with failing to stop at amber light - 144 (15), not 144 (18). I requested disclosure and below are the officer's notes:

- TSTCP (?) EMP / Credit Valley on lic XXX

- Moments earlier I was stopped in the middle lane of NB EMP traffic for a RL for EMP while 403 off ramp traffic WB had just been given green light to proceed

- I was stopped for approx 5-7 secs then I obs(served ?) ACC (?) NB EMP thru RL making no attempt to stop. Speed estimated @ 70 km/h, no brake lights activated

- 403 traffic had to stop quickly to avoid MLC (?) as I activated ER equip

- No other vehs in area (?) RL clear + unobstructed

Clearly, the officer describes the situation very differently from what I remember.

The question is what should my strategy in court be?

Any help and advice will be appreciated

Simon Borys
VIP
VIP

by: Simon Borys on

TSTCP = TSTOP which is short for traffic stop. You're probably reading the O as a C.