Failing to obey a stop sign - Highway Traffic Act section 136(1).
latollo

Red Light- Fail To Stop 144(18).. Suggestions?

by: latollo on

Hello,

I was approaching an intersection with my motorcycle, riding with the plastic face shield opened when something (i think a bug) hit me in a eye. After a few seconds of disorientation, I reopened my eyes and I was on the intersection facing a red light. My instinct suggested me to keep going instead of breaking hard (and most likely fall down). I mean, in that moment I decided to do what my instinct told me it was the safest thing to do.

When the policeman stopped me, I was still confused and I didn't explain my reasons. I did after he gave my ticket ($325), and he said me to just put 'not guilty' on the back and send it, and that he didn't have intention to fight against me for this ticket :?

I'm pretty new in Canada.. what do you think he meant?

Which of the two option of option 3 (trial) should I choose?

Would the 'emergency situation' i was involved in be a good defence in court?

Thanks everyone for your help!!

hwybear

Posting Awards

by: hwybear on

good way to lose an eye....lucky it was not a larger bug or rock :shock:

a full emergency brake on an MC will not cause it to go down. For your safety, go practice emergency braking in an empty parking lot, not at a time of need.

Above is merely a suggestion/thought and in no way constitutes legal advice or views of my employer. www.OHTA.ca
latollo

by: latollo on

Ok, I'll follow your suggestion, but I'll have to bring with me a friend with a sling to shot a stone in my face while I'm riding, to get a full training for the specific situation.

Simon Borys
VIP
VIP

by: Simon Borys on

latollo wrote:I did after he gave my ticket ($325), and he said me to just put 'not guilty' on the back and send it, and that he didn't have intention to fight against me for this ticket :?