Got a Failing to obey signs traffic ticket?
dassme

Bloor And St. Pauls Sq 182(2)

by: dassme on

As the title reads, I just received my very first ticket ever! Ive been driving for 18 years and I'd hate to see my record be blemished by this.

Regardless, here is my situation.

I was driving west on Bloor St around 9:15 Saturday morning heading towards Church St. Before Church St, there's a side street (St. Pauls SQ)where I usually make a right to bypass all that traffic at the intersection of Bloor and Church. To my surprise i was pulled over and given a ticket of Disobeying a Sign 182 (2).

From my experience with that turn, I was positive that I can make that turn. After i received the ticket, I passed by the sign to read it over. It said no right turns M - F 7pm - 7am and anytime Sat/Sun. :shock:

The way I see it, it's crazy that you can't turn there on Sat/Sun cause there's residential housing just around the bend. So If a taxi needed to pick you up from your house, he can't turn in there?? Weird!! :shock:

Should I pay or set up a trial date?? Suggestions?? Thank you!

Radar Identified

by: Radar Identified on

That's a weird one... if you pay you'd get 2 demerit points plus the possibility of an insurance increase (maybe not because you have an unblemished record).

Another option is setting up a trial and looking for a plea-bargain to a municipal by-law infraction. Most of them do not have demerit points so they won't go on your driving record. It's one option.

* The above is NOT legal advice. By acting on anything I have said, you assume responsibility for any outcome and consequences. *
http://www.OntarioTicket.com OR http://www.OHTA.ca
bpassand

by: bpassand on

"Another option is setting up a trial and looking for a plea-bargain to a municipal by-law infraction. Most of them do not have demerit points so they won't go on your driving record. It's one option"

Can you help clarify what will or will not appear on a driving record?