Failing to obey a stop sign - Highway Traffic Act section 136(1).
maucheung

Disobey Sign Fail To Stop At Pemberton Ave And Kenneth Ave

by: maucheung on

I have been driving very carefully for the past 23 years but I got my first ‘Disobey sign fail to stop ticket on April 21, 2010. I was late for my massage therapy appointment located at Warden and Steele area and I use to drive along Bishop Ave and left turn at Maxome to get to Steele. However, there was a traffic jam at Bishop, so I made a right turn to Kenneth Ave heading to Finch to avoid the traffic. It is my FIRST time travelling along Kenneth Ave and I was looking for the exit to Finch. I was so excited finding a traffic light to make a left turn to Finch. However, there was a police car stopped my car making the left turn. The police said I did not stop for the Stop sign and he had to give me a ticket. I was so honest telling him that I was looking for the exit to Finch and I did not see the stop sign. He gave me the ticket anyway and said ‘ Since you are a nice lady and have a clear driving record in the past years, you do not need to find an agent for this case. Just plead not guilty and I will talk to the judge drop the 3 demerit point charge and pay a fine less than $110 . Can I believe what he is saying and plead not guilty? Please advice. Thanks.

p.s. Since it will take months for the trial, how can he remember what he said ?

Radar Identified

by: Radar Identified on

maucheung wrote:Can I believe what he is saying and plead not guilty?

You can always plead not guilty. Whether he remembers or not, don't know. He may have written some information down in his notes that will jog his memory about that.

In this case, the first step would be to go to the courthouse with the ticket and a Notice to Appear filled out (print off this form here):

http://www.toronto.ca/court_services/forms/nia.pdf