Failure To Drive In Marked Lane. Traffic Ticket. HTA: sec 156(1)(A)
SunshineGirl

Sec 154(c) Failing To Drive In Marked Lane...

by: SunshineGirl on

Hi all,

I'm new to this but would really appreciate any help I can get.

I was going SB on the 404 South of Finch Avenue, and stuck in rush hour traffic. I was late to work, so decided to cross the white line marking the lanes to take the exit onto Sheppard Ave. However, the cop pulled me over as I failed to stay in the marked lane.

Couple of questions:

a) I got a $110 ticket but want to fight it as I'm sure my insurance will go up if I'm convicted of an offence under the Highway Traffic Act. However, she let me off easy by not giving me any demerit points as I was honest about being late to work and making the unsafe lane change. Just wondering though, if I go to court to fight this - can they still increase my ticket to give me the three demerit points anyways?

b) Is it worth fighting or should I just plead guilty and accept it? Should I ask for a disclosure of the officer's notes to challenge the evidence. I fully admit I was in the wrong so not sure if going to court will do anything besides reducing my ticket. As well, if I go to court - wont I have to pay court fees and what not...

Any advice would be really appreciated - I'm a little nervous about going to court as I havent done it before so think any help would be beneficial!

THANKS!

Radar Identified

by: Radar Identified on