Why The Mto Is Failing Or Woefully Inadequate.

A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: hwybear, Reflections, admin, Radar Identified, Decatur, bend

Lawful

Why The Mto Is Failing Or Woefully Inadequate.

Unread post by Lawful »

Safety on the road is imperative. I was a Fire Officer for over 30 years and had my share of incidents where careless driving left many people messed up or dead. I am a supporter of all emergency services. When you need one of the 3 services of police, fire or ambulance...you are grateful. However, I live safety and fairness, so I submit the following:

While the Ministry of Transportation oversees licensing, there is much they don't or can't do and these inabilities affect YOU.

Immigrants to Canada often have never seen snow. The MTO expects these new drivers, to manage ice and snow on the road, which proves difficult for drivers who have lived here all their lives. That's grossly unfair to ALL drivers and pedestrians, that may be hit as a result of the new drivers inexperience. I have personally taken skid control classes thru my previous career and its well worth the money. Not only should we all have that kind of training, the MTO is careless and I would say responsible for putting drivers on the road that they know can't handle the winter driving conditions. Note to MTO: Budget to train all drivers in skid control. 'We the North' have different driving conditions than those in Arizona. I will add, that I have seen many a driver that can't handle the size of vehicles or traffic at all, but thats another story.