Got A Ticket For No Muffler. But I Have A Muffler.

Read our Forum Rules here.
ALG

Got A Ticket For No Muffler. But I Have A Muffler.

Unread post by ALG »

Hello, newbie here. I just got a ticket for having no muffler. But I have a muffler. My car is just loud. I drive a 2017 Dodge Hellcat Charger SRT. The officer who gave the ticket wouldn't listen to me and wouldn't let me show him my muffler. After handing me the ticket, he sped off to give another driver another ticket. I tried to explain to him that I do have a muffler and it's not modified. It's just how it is and how I bought it. Anyway, I'm hoping to get this ticket dismissed. My wife wants to just pay it. Any advice? Would I have good chances of having this dismissed?

ALG

Unread post by ALG »

Ticket says "No muffler- motor vehicle. Contrary to HTA section 75"

bend

Posting Awards

Unread post by bend »

This particular charge is not exactly clear cut. It's open to some interpretation and that's probably done purposely to give officers some leeway. It's not a charge where it's either you had a muffler or not.

75 (1) Every motor vehicle or motor assisted bicycle shall be equipped with a muffler in good working order and in constant operation to prevent excessive or unusual noise and excessive smoke, and no person shall use a muffler cut-out, straight exhaust, gutted muffler, hollywood muffler, by-pass or similar device upon a motor vehicle or motor assisted bicycle. R.S.O. 1990, c. H.8, s. 75 (1).

The keywords here are "and" and "or."

"and in constant operation to prevent excessive or unusual noise"

So it's just not enough to have a muffler, but it must also cut back on noise.