A speeding traffic ticket is subject to section 128 of the Highway Traffic Act.
superman777

74 In 50 Zone, Reduced To 65 !!

by: superman777 on

Hello, for last few days i was soo stressed but thanks God i found this forum. I hope all my queries will be answered:

Ok so i am a G2 driver, and just got a speeding ticket this sunday on Mississauga Road. I was driving 94 civic.

Scenario:

It was sunday and 2 police officers were doing this routine speeding test. One officer was standing with a Speed Gun , i was going down a bridge and the guy with speed gun waived his hand to stop.

I pulled over, In just 5-10 seconds the cop who was sitting in a car came to me and told me that i am driving 74 in 50 Km zone. I said its old car so i had to accelerate it to cross the up hill and there were 2 bikers as well which i wanted to pass.

So he asked "you mean your car is not safe to drive if it can't accelerate properly ? " then blah blah blah.. took my license, insurance and ownership..

After 5-10 mins, he came and told me that he reduced the fine to 52.50$ , no 0 Demerit points and the speed to 65KM from 74km since its my first offence. He then told me to take care in future.

Now. I know this $52.50 is not a big issue but if i plead guilty... my insurance will jump for sure...

I am thinking to go to trial and i am also sure that cop will put the original charges Back on to me

Now lets suppose if i select Trial Option.

0- My goal is to change the charges to something like parking, etc etc...even i have to pay charges equivalent to 74km... thats around 200$ i guess...So what i am planning is to pay fine equivalent to 74km fine but under different charges. do you think thats possible in first meeting ?

1- Is it mandatory to arrange FIRST MEETING ? or its totally upto me or on cop to meet in person ? how long usually it takes to have the first meeting ?