A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: admin, hwybear, Radar Identified, Reflections, bend, Decatur

t3ch9

Court Date - How To Tell If Officer Is In Court?

by: t3ch9 on

Hey guys, I have a court date coming up on Sept 1. I was wondering if there is a way to check if the police officer has showed up in court prior to the trial?

This is my first time in traffic court, any suggestions?

If officer shows up in court, how do i plea guilty instead of proceeding with trial?

bend

Posting Awards

by: bend on

If you're asking if there's some sort of bulletin on the door or a list you can check, the answer is no.

The officer could be waiting patiently in the court room or they could be somewhere in the building. Usually, it's not essential for that the officer be in the room the first little while of a scheduled court time block. So just because you don't immediately recognize a face the moment you walk in doesn't necessarily mean one wont appear.

You'll usually line up one by one and will most likely be offered a deal depending on the charge. Either way, they'll ask you how you want to proceed. If you're offered a deal and would like to think about it, politely ask to do so. They will get the others out of the way before coming back to you. Usually you wont be the only individual in the courtroom requiring that officer.

t3ch9

bend wrote:If you're asking if there's some sort of bulletin on the door or a list you can check, the answer is no.

The officer could be waiting patiently in the court room or they could be somewhere in the building. Usually, it's not essential for that the officer be in the room the first little while of a scheduled court time block. So just because you don't immediately recognize a face the moment you walk in doesn't necessarily mean one wont appear.