Failing to move, where possible, into another lane when passing a stopped emergency vehicle - Ontario Highway Traffic Act
lando_88

Failing To Move, Where Possible For Emergency Vehicle

by: lando_88 on

Hello, I looking for any help and/or advice for my situation. I have been driving for 22yrs and have never lost 1 point on my licence and never any accidents. Only thing I ever had was an outdated sticker fine. I am a slow and cautious driver.

I was driving in southern ont. on a 4 lane (2+2) hwy. I crested a hill, at the bottom exactly 1km away were flashing lights, not on the shoulder but on a median directly beside the shoulder, thought it was a tow truck waiting, as I got closer realized it was an suv opp cruiser x2, checked my mirrors and blind spot, 3 cars in passing lane going much faster than me, neareset one very close to me, I decided it was not safe to change lane, might get rear ended. So I proceeded safely by. Officer jumped on me right away. I was shocked when he explained the ticket, I told him that I could not change lanes due to vehicles too close. He insisted I could have.

I am 100% innocent and very upset over this ticket. I am going to take this to court and fight it. I cannot afford any legal help. I am looking for any advice and/or experiences from anyone concerning this subject. I thank you in advance and your help is definitely appreciated.

ynotp

Posting Awards

by: ynotp on