sombodee

Stunt Driving [172(1)] Causing Tire To Lose Traction

by: sombodee on

So about a week ago, I was driving home from a friends, and on one of the corners, about 2km from home, I gave it a bit too much gas, and my tail got out from behind me. (Essentially, I drifted around a corner). Unfortunately, there was an officer who had just pulled onto the road behind me just before I made said turn, and, as you can probably figure from my posting here, was not pleased with how I controlled my car. He gave me a summons for the end of the month, suspended my licence and impounded my baby for 7 days. I am being charged under 172(1): perform stunt/cause tire to lose traction. I was very respectful while talking to the officer, and he suggested that I contest the ticket.

I am a first year college student, and the car is in my name, G2 driver :oops: . That being said, the whole charge is out of my budget. The fines alone are not feesible, and it hurts to think of how my insurance would inflate with that on my driving record. What should my next steps be, and what are the odds that I can have the fine reduced to something more manageable? I have looked into a few paralegals (points, xcopper), and they all look like they're in the price range of ~700-800$, so if possible, I'd like to represent myself in court, is this a bad idea? Please share experiences with the same or similar charges, how the court proceedings went, and what will likely happen to me :shock:

Much appreciated guys, every reply helps me figure out what's best for me in this situation.

iFly55

Posting Awards

by: iFly55 on

You'll have to make an appearance for your summons. Some jurisdictions will have disclosure ready for you at the summons; you can also separately request for additional disclosure once the trial date is available.