A speeding traffic ticket is subject to section 128 of the Highway Traffic Act.
infidel

73 On 50..need Advice On Trial

by: infidel on

Hello folks.

I need some urgent advice here as I am worried on how to proceed.

I am new to Canada(driven when in the past..but returned after 1.5yrs) I landed here and promptly renewed my G Driving License. So the very next day was my first drive in Canada in 1.5 years in a new city(Milton). I dropped my friend in his car at the local GO station and was returning when I was pulled over for going 73 in a 50 zone. No excuses really. The car was new to me and I wasnt really thinking I was over the limit nor observing the odometer. Most 3 lane roads in Milton have a limit of 70 but this one was 50 and I didnt know frankly. The cop ticketed me for the speed showing on his speed gun despite me telling him I was new and this was literally my first drive in a long time(I think they are trained not to trust!). I was adviced to go for an early resolution which was in october. Here I was offered that the speed will be lowered to 65 and I can get away with just a 60$ penalty and no demerits. I had too many ppl advising against taking this bait and messing up my history for insurers so I rejected the offer and pleaded not guilty. I just received a trail schedule for March 2018 for the original charge. Now I am in 2 minds on how to proceed with this. Any advice on how to go about the disclosure, what to expect on court day and if I will need a paralegal will help.

1. New to Canada and on my first drive literally (no kidding). Road seemed like a 70er but turns out its a 50. Not sure why the cop was adamant and didnt let me off with a warning. Its not an excuse really but was hoping for leniency.