Improper right turn - Discuss the HTA here
MeatballMaster

Questions Regarding Right Turns

by: MeatballMaster on

Hi my name is MeatballMaster and I'm a younge driver. I have a few questions regarding right turns.

a) Is it legal to turn right into a two lane road when I have a red light and the oncoming traffic has the green advance arrow?

b) Which lane do I turn into when there are three lanes and the rightmost lane is a bus lane? For example this intersection: https://www.google.ca/maps/@43.8614997, ... !1e1?hl=en .

c) When turning right onto a two lane road I usually wait until both lanes are clear before turning in case someone changes lanes. Is that incorrect?

I also understand that police and insurance sometimes have different methods for finding who's at fault. In any of these cases would their ruling be different? Thanks for the help.

whaddyaknow

Posting Awards

by: whaddyaknow on

1) Yes, provided you come to a full stop first and yield to all other traffic, pedestrians, etc. (Remember to look to the right for pedestrians and cyclists on the sidewalk before moving.)

2) If the rightmost lane is reserved for buses (as it appears to be in your link), you would turn into the next-closest lane.

3) It's not required, but certainly I would recommend it as a general practice.

Your last question is a bit speculative, so I will pass on a specific answer but yes, the insurance fault determination rules are separate from the OHTA.

UnluckyDuck

Posting Awards

by: UnluckyDuck on

From What I recall when I did my driving school approx 7 years ago, you were supposed to turn into the furthest right lane, and merge to the proper lane within 100m of turning. Second, the person making the left with the advanced green has the right of way, you are supposed to STOP and YIELD your right of way at a red light, and proceed when it SAFELY can be done.