A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, Reflections, admin, hwybear, Decatur, bend

xeon

Should I Report A Collision? What To Do Next After Collision

by: xeon on

Hi guys,

I am very new at this. I been back bumpered today on 401. My car is only a year old so it's scratched, dented a bit, and maybe something broken inside, I have no clue. From outside I can see paint scrabbled.

I was offered to do an estimate of the cost which I exchanged insurance information for and now I see that I have 24 hours to report that collision according to Toronto collision report center. This gives me no time really.

1- Who gives me a free estimate for something like this? my car manufacturer/dealer? random mechanic? It's a new car. Who can I trust with this?

2- Should I report this before 24 hours end and then offer a settlement without insurance involvement if other party wants it? to be fair to them, they might not want to go to insurance and pay me, so how can I cover my ass without reporting past 24 hours? can I take a promissory note from them stating they were at fault?

I am really in doubt if I can get an estimate this morning as my 24 hours is coming to an end around 1 p.m.

I really appreciate any early morning response.

Thanks

Simon Borys
VIP
VIP

by: Simon Borys on

There is no time limit for reporting a collisions, however if you're going to report this you should do it as soon as possible. Don't use it as a bargaining tool with the other person.

You are not actually required to report it unless there is damage to public propery, injuries, or the damage to vehicles is over $1000.

NOTHING I SAY ON HERE IS LEGAL ADVICE.
Radar Identified

by: Radar Identified on