It's Really About Time That A Forum Like This Exists

A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: Radar Identified, hwybear, Reflections, admin, Decatur, bend

DynamicLegal

It's Really About Time That A Forum Like This Exists

Unread post by DynamicLegal »

I really want to commend the creators of this forum. I have been driving for over 10 years; I learned to drive in Montreal. People always say how Quebec drivers are nuts, but really, while I lived there, I very rarely saw or read about, or knew about any major accidents.

I came to Ontario a little over 3 years ago, and I have noticed that the traffic enforcement is about 10 times as organized and as frequent as in Quebec. Not to say that there isn't a legitimate safety concern - because there is - but the degree to which the various levels of government crack down on high way traffic offences in this province, might suggest that there are other motivations beyond highway security and safety.

The fact is that this province collects millions of dollars and many counties and municipalities thrive off of this revenue. Accordingly, it's up to citizens to organize themselves to understand their rights when charged with an offence, and to educate one another on how to drive more safely and to know the rules of the road.

Yes, it's important to police driving behaviours to encourage safe conduct. However, there are many problems with HTA enforcement in Ontario.

* Is it necessary that virtually every time there's a fender bender that someone is charged with some kind of offence (often they are over charged with careless driving as a way to coerce guilty pleas to lesser offences even when it's just an "accident").