A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: admin, hwybear, Radar Identified, Reflections, bend, Decatur

brettshard

Failure To Surrender G1

by: brettshard on

I was involved in a collision the other day. I'm a new resident in Ontario, but only here for 54 days when the accident happened. I passed my G1 before the accident but I didn't have it on me. I did, though, have my international driving permit and my license from another country which are both valid. I offered to show the officer both documents, he didn't take them and asked that I show my G1. He asked me if I planned to stay in Ontario for long and I said what my personal plans are is irrelevant to the accident. I'm here for less than 60 days and I have my foreign license and my international driving license which are both valid.

I got ticketed for failure to have/surrender license.

I intend to fight the charge. I've consulted paralegal and they said that after I passed G1, my G1 supersedes my international driving license so I may not have a case. And I'm worried because I'm a G1 and I was driving alone. I am an experienced driver and I have a full license from another country. Will I also be charged or will it affect my case negatively?

brettshard

I was involved in a collision a few days ago and the police officer determined that I was at fault. When talking to him in private, he said he needed to charge someone when there was a collision, but he was willing to work in my favour and "lie to give me a lesser charge". He offered to ticket me for failing to have my insurance card with me, which wasn't true, because I filled out all insurance information for the other party.