A place to discuss any general Highway Traffic Act related items.

Moderators: admin, hwybear, Radar Identified, Reflections, bend, Decatur

binbin

Attending The Appeal In A Local Court...

by: binbin on

Hello everyone! this is my first timer. We Ontario residents do need a site like this to help out among ourselves.

I am sure quite a number of you have this experience: got a ticket while on the way to cottage county or somewhere far away from your home city. I live in Markham and get caught in Hwy 11. The court of justice address on the ticket is in Orillia. I don't want to drive all the way to Orillia to arrange for an appeal, and go there again for the trial a few months later. Is there a way I can arrange for an appeal, and do the trial in a local court (Markham or Scarborough)?

If that won't work, can I simply mail the first attendance form to the Orillia court to tell them I want to appeal, or do I need to go to their office in person? Or can I ask my friend to do it on my behalf?

Many tx

hwybear

Posting Awards

by: hwybear on

It is not an "appeal". You are simply challenging the ticket itself. So you should read the "trial option" and follow those instructions. Offence notices vary on the back as to how to go about this, so read carefully. Some are mail in, some must appear in person.

If you select the trial, it will be in the court jurisdiction of where the offence took place.

An appeal is when a trial has been completed and either the crown or the defendant wants to challenge/appeal the result of said trial.

Above is merely a suggestion/thought and in no way constitutes legal advice or views of my employer. www.OHTA.ca
Reflections

by: Reflections on

If you want to file the paperwork in Markham, you can. However like 'bear said the trial, and all other official proceedings, will take place in the juristiction where the "offence" took place.

http://www.OHTA.ca OR http://www.OntarioTrafficAct.com
binbin