Got a Failing to obey signs traffic ticket?
Mayfly

Disobey Stop Sign And Not Signing Ownership - Help Please!

by: Mayfly on

I am new to this website. Thanks God for finding this great site. I am writing on my friend's behalf who speaks little English. Here are the facts:

"At about 6:00 p.m., I was on my way leaving home to pick up my daughter who has just finished her volunteer work at a neighbouring hospital. I was going northbound on Kersey Cres. (Richmond Hill). Soon after the Yongehurst Road intersection, I was signalled to stop by a police car. I pulled over. A police officer approached my car so I turned off the engine and rolled down the window. He told me that I have run the stop sign at Yongehurst. I told him that I did stop. Kersey Crescent is in my neighbourhood and is a usual route for me. I am familiar with and aware of all the stop signs enroute. I obtained my driver's license in 1997 and I have been a very cautious driver as I am a stay-home mother of 3 young children aging 10, 12 and 18. That evening was rainy and foggy. I deliberately turned on the fog lights after stopping at the stop sign at Yongehurst as the visibility was low. The police officer then asked me for my driver's licence. I was rather nervous as I have never been stopped by a police officer before. I was pulling out all identification cards and insurance policy slip from my wallet. When he saw my ownership permit, he asked to inspect it. Then he said that it was not signed. I told him that it was just a copy in my wallet, the original was in the trunk if he allowed me to show him. The police officer ignored me, took all my identifications and returned to his car. At about 6:20 p.m., the police officer gave me 2 tickets for failing to obey a stop sign and failing to sign the ownership permit in ink. He then returned all my identifications to me and explained briefly about paying the fines."

Here are my questions:

1. What are my friend's chances at trial?