Got a Failing to obey signs traffic ticket?
baklava

"disobey Sign" Hta 182(2) (hwy 7 & Swansea Rd)

by: baklava on

Hi,

This is my first time getting a ticket of any kind. I've been driving for over 10 years without even a parking ticket as I am a careful driver and obey all laws/by-laws. But yesterday, apparently I made an illegal left turn south onto Swansea Rd while heading west from Hwy 7 in Markham. I drove back to the intersection light and did see a sign that says that shows no left turn from 7am-9am, which I didn't notice earlier and it was 8:19AM. So the officer was just doing his job. He told me that the fine is minor ($110 total payable) and there are no demerit points. The ticket says:

Disobey Sign

HTA, Section 182(2)

I see that everyone with this violation gets 2 demerit points. Is the officer correct that I will not get any points? Should I plea guilty and pay the fine or fight this ticket? If I should fight it, how should I do it? Would my insurance go up if it is 0 or 2 points? Any help or sharing your experience with this is much appreciate. I'm nervous as this is my first ticket ever. Thanks!

Betty

Simon Borys
VIP
VIP

by: Simon Borys on

The fine is indeed $110 and 2 points. The points are an administrative issue and neither the crown nor the justice of the peace has the ability to affect the points. If you plead guilty or are convicted of Disobey Sign you will get the points off your licence.