Failing to obey a stop sign - Highway Traffic Act section 136(1).
peizilla

Red Light - Fail To Stop

by: peizilla on

Hi, I'm new to this site, everyone seem really helpful to new members here. So here goes nothing.

I'm a G2 driver, aged around 20ish, male.

I got a ticket at around noon at intersection Markham road and Progress ave while I was driving my mother to work. I was going southbound on Markham road, I was going at about 70-75, I saw the approaching light and it was turning yellow and I decided to run for it. At the time I saw a police car on the on coming side left turning so I immediately slammed on my brakes, when I finally stopped, I was in past the crosswalk and almost at the middle of the intersection. I was about to reverse back and then the police inside the car waving his hand for me to go, so I did and he did a U-turn and followed me telling me to stop on the right side.

The conversation I had with the police officer was minimal as I'm not really a talkative person. He came by and told me this was recorded etc. and asked for my id/registration/insurance, to which i nodded and said 'yes' to. After getting everything written down he handed me everything back except my driver's licences, which he took to the car and after about 10 minutes he came back and handed me a ticket. He told me that I was getting a 'break' and that I was doing wreck less driving and how it would have been a accident if i had gone through. I nodded/yes to all this. He then told me that I was given a red light - failed to stop, and told me I have the option of going to court, just follow instruction on the back and told me to drive safe.

I'm really worried about this, as this is my very first ticket, and I have no idea what to do. Please can anyone give me some ideas as to what to do would be greatly appreciated!!

PS: the ticket is payable $325 and on the ticket he wrote my plate number wrong. instead of a M he wrote a n (literally).