Failing to obey a stop sign - Highway Traffic Act section 136(1).
JD173

Failure To Stop - Amber Light

by: JD173 on

I'd like to start off by saying that I only have my G1, and today was my third time driving, first time driving with someone other than the driving instructor, so what are the odds right. Anyways, I was practicing driving with my dad and I got a failure to stop at an amber light ticket. I saw the amber light when I was driving and in my opinion I was too close to stop since the road I was going on has like a 70 speed limit and it was raining, so I didn't want to slam the brakes and skid. Also, I'm a very inexperienced driver, like this was my third time driving and I got booked for something so stupid. The police officer that pulled me over acknowledged the fact that I was only a G1 driver, but still decided to give me the ticket. Should I fight the ticket in court or go through the prosecutor? What should I bring up in my defense since I don't think simply saying that it was raining and I thought I was too close is going to cut it. Will they let me off since I'm so inexperienced? Any feedback is appreciated, thanks!

On another note, there was a pickup truck in the lane next to me who was speeding and went through the amber light as I did. When my dad asked the cop about it, the cop said he was going to go after him but he couldn't since he got away so he pulled me over, what kind of logic is that?

Whenaxis

Posting Awards

by: Whenaxis on

I believe you were charged under section 144(15) of the Highway Traffic Act:

"Every driver approaching a traffic control signal showing a circular amber indication and facing the indication shall stop his or her vehicle if he or she can do so safely, otherwise he or she may proceed with caution."

If you go to court and testify:

(1) the speed limit was 70km/h;

(2) it was raining;

(3) you thought it would not be safe to stop; and,

(4) you proceeded through the intersection with caution.