Failing to move, where possible, into another lane when passing a stopped emergency vehicle - Ontario Highway Traffic Act
abg86

Will I Get A Ticket?

by: abg86 on

Hi everyone

I am a fairly new driver and I hope to get some insight here.

I was in the VERY left lane in a 3 lane street.

I heard the sirens of an ambulance, but did not see it, I began to slow down, to about 30/40 km/h (this was a 60 zone).

When the cars around me began to slow down as well, to my right both lanes were blocked with cars.

I stopped my car in the left lane.

I heard the ambulance approaching from behind and looked in my rearview mirror to surely see it behind me.

At this point I looked to my right, I saw the middle lane had just been cleared.

I looked at the rearview mirror again and it seemed the ambulance was fast approaching in the middle lane, so I thought I'd keep in a stopped position in the left lane, but as it approached me it became obvious it was right behind me, full sirens, so I put on my RIGHT signal and switched into the empty lane.

The ambulance whizzed by me.

I technically I did stop and I did pull into the rightmost lane available to me (the middle one, b/c the very right lane was packed), but I don't know if I did this too slowly, and if so, am I going to get a ticket?

So can EMS charge me now?

Any help would be appreciated. I felt really upset after this happened, I think I should have realized sooner that the ambulance was in the left lane and not the right...maybe he even was, and then switched, I kept looking around me so I don't know if that happened or not.

matt123

by: matt123 on