A speeding traffic ticket is subject to section 128 of the Highway Traffic Act.
legalize-it

72km/h In A 50km/h

by: legalize-it on

So today I got pulled over *edited* in Windsor, ON. *edited*

Unfortunately everything on the ticket is correct. He used some hand held radar gun.

72km/h in a 50km/h zone.

I will choose option 3 and see if a prosecutor will lower to 0 demerit points. If so I may accept.

There are my questions:

1) If I meet with a prosecutor and he offers a deal to lower the charge to just a fine, with no demerit points, can I still ask for disclosure to see the evidence against me before I accept any type of deal? or would he possibly take offense and just attempt to get the full amount out of me?

2) I work in a Lab and I know all about QC and calibrations. This radar equipment must need to be correctly calibrated and Quality Controlled to ensure the results are accurate. Would all of this info be provided for disclosure? If not is this a possible attack point?

3) If I do receive disclosure, and everything adds up against me are there any acceptable defenses? i.e. Do I just say it "I don't know what happened and I wasn't speeding" and just stick to my story type of thing? or would the Judge still find me guilty?

*edited*
Edited by HTA Forum Moderator
Stanton
High Authority
High Authority

Posting Awards

by: Stanton on

If your ticket wasn't already reduced, there is a very good chance the Crown will offer you a plea deal to 15 over. Quite likely you'd have an opportunity to review disclosure before having to accept a plea deal, assuming the Crown even has disclosure on your first attendance date.