mcbuckets

91 Km/h In A Posted 50 Zone

by: mcbuckets on

I was clocked and pulled over leaving Chatsworth just before the posted speed limit changes to 70 (was clearly visible where I was clocked, but I had not yet passed the sign). The officer had clocked me at 101 in the 50 zone, and was nice enough to give me a ticket for 41 over (the alternative being a major offense, car impound etc..).

For what its worth, I've been driving for 10 years with zero offenses or at-fault accidents. When giving me the ticket, the officer recommended taking option 2 - guilty with explanation, saying that if I've never had a ticket it would likely be reduced.

Naturally my first choice would be to try to get this thrown out entirely, my concern is if I plead not guilty, the prosecutor will amend the charge to 51 over which is a major offense, will severely impact my insurance and may affect my work (I go through security clearance screening every 5 or 10 years).

If i plead guilty with explanation and show up in court can the charge be amended to the higher amount? My strategy for explanation is my driving record and that the 70 sign was visible so i was less mindful of my speed. How likely is this to help? If I don't like the outcome do I still have the option of trial?

Images of my ticket are attached, looking for general advice - thanks in advance!

EDIT: the image quality is very poor for some reason when uploaded...

The top right corner of the ticket, the officer noted "51 km/h over, court date, 7 day impound + d1 susp"

The back of the ticket option 2 states: "Plea of Guilty - Submissions as to Penalty: I want to appear before a justice to enter a plea of guilty and make submissions as to penalty (amount of fine or time to pay). Note: you must attend the court office shown below within the time and days shown"

Attachments
Ticket.jpg
Ticket.jpg (19.72 KiB) Viewed 5597 times
ticket2.jpg
ticket2.jpg (22.4 KiB) Viewed 5597 times
Zatota

Posting Awards

by: Zatota on