arzon

Caselaws For Radar Gun

by: arzon on

Hey guys,

I'm preparing my defense (trial in 3 weeks) and I'm wondering how I can go about finding good case laws regarding radar gun.

I was pulled 44km over with a HANDHELD GENSIS DIRECTIONAL and I plan to attack every angle of the officer + radar gun.

I've learned a ton from this forum and plan to pay it forward to people in the future with a fairly long post of my case and what I plan to do.

jsherk
High Authority
High Authority

by: jsherk on

Well there are not really any good ones that I know of that will help. And I have read a LOT of them!

The problem in Ontario is that the courts have decided that the officer only needs to say "I am a qualified operator" and that "I beleive the radar was working correctly at the time". Since there is no statuatory requirement for training or testing procedures, the courts will simply say that "I am satisfied with the officers testimony that he is qualified and the unit was working properly".

Yes you can absolutely question the officer upside down and backwards about his training and his knowledge of the use of the device, however the JP will most likely in the end just blow all that off and say "I am satisfied with the officers testimony that he is qualified and the unit was working properly".

All the case laws I read have the same flaw from a defense perspective... "The defense called no contradictory evidence"

So this means that the defense may have done a great job cross-examining the officer, however that was not enough to bring reasonable doubt. And they did not put their own expert on the stand. The defendant themselves may have testified, but their testimony is not equal to the officers (from an expertise perspective) and therefore it again did not raise enought doubt.

Read R. v. Xu, 2012 ONCJ 278 (appeal decision by Judge) http://canlii.ca/t/fr8nn