maryjohn

Careless Driving Charge. No Other Car Involved

by: maryjohn on

Hi, first of all, thank you in advance for all the useful input that I found in this forum.

I am charged with careless driving, the court date is coming up next week and I would greatly appreciate any suggestions you have. I have waited to get the disclosure, which I finally received today.

It was a foggy November night last year, around 9:40 p.m when the accident happened. I was driving from school (I am a nursing student) and driving to my brother's place to pick up my 2kids . I approached a roundabout which is 1 minute away from his house. This is a strictly residential area. In this foggy night, I was driving slow. Speed limit was 50, and I must have been driving 40. I saw something jump infront of me. I could have been a racoon or a child. I could not tell. I was just about entering the roundabout. It all happened fast. As I was deciding that it is not a human being, I was thinking of how not to swerve, but instead hold on to the wheel. So I held on, and went straight on top of the roundabout, instead of going around it. I took down one traffic sign that was in the middle of the roundabout, and stopped my vehicle just across on the other side of the round about. So basically, I went straight on top and through the roundabout. No other vehicle was involved, only my old sentra which was damaged due to the traffic sign.