Mboudreau

Posting Awards

4 Demerit Pts Suspension - Insurance Driver's Abstract

by: Mboudreau on

Hi there. 13 months ago, I got my first and only speeding ticket. I was a g2 driver and due to escalated sanctions, they suspended my license for 30 days.

Luckily, I didn't need my car as I was moving downtown from the countryside in a couple months. I have a couple questions.

1. How long will this appear on my drivers abstract should I want to get a car insurance again. I am getting a lot of mixed answers to this (2/3/5 years). I am looking at buying a house in the suburbs in maybe 1 year (2 max), and would probably like to get a car at that point. I can bus it as long as I need to but it would be nice to know when insurance will be affordable again.

2. If I were to try to get covered while the suspension was still on my abstract, approx what would my insurance be per month (ballpark figure)

3. If I were to upgrade to my G license, would that make any difference? Additionally, If i moved out of Ontario, would the suspension still hold weight or appear on the abstract?

4. If I were to move home with my father and be put as an occasional driver on his vehicle, would that make his insurance sky rocket?

Thanks for any information you guys can provide.

bend

Posting Awards

by: bend on

Mboudreau wrote:1. How long will this appear on my drivers abstract should I want to get a car insurance again. I am getting a lot of mixed answers to this (2/3/5 years). I am looking at buying a house in the suburbs in maybe 1 year (2 max), and would probably like to get a car at that point. I can bus it as long as I need to but it would be nice to know when insurance will be affordable again.

It'll always be on your record. There are different types of records you can request based on length (3, 5, 10 year, or complete). Insurance companies will use a 3 year record (36 months) when issuing you a surcharge for a conviction.