nessat

Careless Driving Charge - House Collision

by: nessat on

Hello everyone,

I've been browsing this board for some time after being in my first accident last August. I had previously gone in for Early Resolution but was told that they did not have my file at the courthouse at the time and was told because of the nature of the accident, I would be scheduled for a trial instead. The meeting itself took place in October and I am just now (March 31st) receiving a date for the trial. I am posting on here both to get advice as well as to lay out what happened for myself.

I am a new driver (19 years old at the time of accident) and had only recently purchased my first car (a week or so before) when the accident occurred. For a little background on the entire situation, that summer, I had been working full time on the island. I commuted via the TTC and would reach the ferry docks at 9:30AM to catch the first boat over, and more often than not, I would not be catching the ferry back to mainland until 9:30PM where I would then commute back home to Scarborough. At the same time, I was also taking online courses at my university and would often have to stay up later to finish assignments. On top of all of that, my mother can't drive. Getting a car was supposed to make it easier on both of us considering she works two jobs and I go to school on the other end of the city.